Day Prize Hotel & Maps Panels Program Advertising Premier Comics Archives Shop Sponsors Comic Happenings floor plan Exhibitor Info  


Second Big Year!!!

Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo 2001

An Exhibition of Small Press, Alternative, and Creator-Owned Comics

Sponsored by

Back Porch Comics c/o Bob Corby P.O.Box 20550 Columbus OH 43220

(New Address)

Last Update 4/26/01

The Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo convened once again on March 31,2001 at the Rhodes Center in the Ohio Expo Center, Columbus Ohio. The 65 exhibitors, who attended the second annual show, came from as far west as Portland, Oregon and as far east as New York City. See below for a complete list of exhibitors.

Dave Sim (Cerebus) was the special guest. He spent a few hours roaming the hall, talking to exhibitors and then settled down at a table for the duration of the show talking with fans, signing books and doing sketches. A large pile of comics (click to see the list) were collected from the exhibitors to be entered in Dave’s “Day Prize” competition. The winner will be announced on April 30.

Jeff Smith (Bone) made a surprise appearance and spent a few hours circulating among the exhibitors talking and checking out all the comics. He left with a big stack of comics he bought. (He wouldn’t let use give them to him.)

Attendance hit 440. Blowing away last years small but enthusiastic crowd. Most exhibitors reported good sales.

The fun started on Thursday night when Dave Sim and I spent an hour on the air talking to Steve “Boom-Boom” Cannon on WTVN Talk Radio. Earlier in the evening I was promo-ed as “the definitive authority on alternative comics” and almost ran and hid somewhere. But after a light dinner of lasagna, (feed a fever, feed a cold- I always say), we showed for the interview and quickly straightened out the misconception. The hour flew by with a lot of jokes flying back and forth. Mostly Dave held our end up our end. Callers included two local small pressers and SPACE exhibitors, Max Ink and Mike Carroll.

On Friday night about 30 people showed up at the Laughing Ogre for pizza. Thanks guys, it was a great time. At the Ogre a big 80”X30” jam was started, which was finished during the show.

On Saturday morning as we were setting up Bryan Erdy of WCMH, Columbus’ NBC affiliate conducted interviews with many of the exhibitors. Although none of the footage aired, we did get a short promo on the morning news and with file footage available there is a better chance of getting promos next year. I will also be posting stills from this video soon.

The NBC affiliate from Marietta, Ohio was also on hand and shot some video.

At about 3:00 PM a drawing for the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund was held. The winner was Millard Draudt writer/artist of Dog-Eared. He won an estimated $120.00 worth of small press comics which were donated by the exhibitors.

I didn’t start circulating until about 4:30 PM so I missed allot of the exhibitors and their books. There will be a reading list posted here soon of all the books I picked up at SPACE. I have picked up some of the books I missed at the Laughing Ogre and will be picking up some others though the publishers soon and adding them to the list. In the meanwhile check out Rich Watson’s review of SPACE and some of the comics which appeared there in his "View from the Cheap Seats" column at Mini-Comics.Com

At 6:00 PM the show closed , I got busy talking to people and before I knew it I had the only table left standing in the room. Thanks everybody for helping clean up and stack tables. We were out the door by 7:00 PM.

Special thanks to Dave Sim for giving this little show a much need boost. Hopefully he will be back next year.

SPACE was much more successful than last year and hopefully will continue to grow. We’ll be back next year. Check back here often for info on next year’s show.

Bob Corby


Special Guest

Dave Sim (Cerebus)

Find out about the first annual Day Prize

Day Prize Short List

List of exhibitors for 2001:

Joe Zabel(The Trespassers)

Tom Williams (Crash Comics)

Dylan Williams (Reporter)

Richard White (Chronicles of the Sea Dragon, Troubleshooters,Inc.)

Rich Watson (Celebrity, Rat, Elbow Room)

Henriette Valium (Primitive Cretins, Mother's Heart)

Robert K. Ullman (From the Curve, Atom-Bomb Bikini, Squirrel Boy)

Ray Tomczak (Dr. Bob and Irving)

Ben T. Steckler (Get BenT, Unshaven Chi, Are you My Dada?)

Ian Shires (Dimestore Productions)

Thomas Scioli Xeric Grant Award Winner(The Myth of 8-Opus)

Alex Robinson(Box Office Poison)

Brent Riches (The Electrifying Exploits of Boreanna, Enigma of the Frozen North, Rev. Riches Tabernacle of Terror)

 C D Regan (Nether: The Age of Maga)

Stef Pulford and Patrick Jones (Exquisite Dead Guy, 6:35, Works & Days)

John Porcellino (King-Cat)

L. Neil Piece (Flyin' Ralph, Reverie, Western Digest)

Steven Peters (Awaken Comics)

  Eric Owens,Chrys Henkaline (AVComics)

Steven M. Noppenberger (Whistle Blower)

Keith Newsome, Shawn Prince, Marcus Rollie, Jamie Snell Broken Glass Studio ( Voltron, Bozo, Dragonstail, Godsent)

Michael R. Neno  Xeric Grant Award Winner( Reactionary Tales, Quaky pig and Friends, Murder By Crowquill, Negative Burn)

 Scott Mills (Big Clay Pot)

Sean Kelley McKeever (The Waiting Place)

Jeff Manley (Stories of Kiwi)

Bill Knapp (Faith: A Fable, The Furies)

Insane Clown Posse / Psychopathic Records Road Show

Max Ink (The Bolt, Ameoba Adventures)

Kevin Huizenga (Supermonster)

 Paul Hornschemeier (Sequential)

 Ryan "Holgie" Holgersen (Crazy Puppy)

Marcel Guldmond Xeric Grant Award Winner(Under a Slowly Spinning Sun)

Philip Gregory(Darklanders)

Shawn Granton (Ten Foot Rule, Modern Industry)

David A. "Tony" Goins (Guns of the Nightchild)

Tom Galambos Xeric Grant Award Winner(All the Wrong Places, From Hungary)

Tim Fischer (Space Pilot Girl)

tv-fisch (Feline Vendetta, If I Were a Serial Killer, Bokko)

Matt Feazell (Cynical Man)

Brent Erwin (Mini-comics Interview,

 Millard Draudt (Dog Eared)

Michael T. Desing (Army Ants)

Farel Dalrymple Xeric Grant Award Winner(Pop Gun War, Meathaus)

Kel Crum (Cornelia Cartoonz, Ed Thud Comix)

Tyim Courts (Experiencing Technical Difficulties, Narcoleptic Man)

Jim Coon (Dead End, Axel and Alex, Dr. Speck)

Tony Consiglio (Double Cross)

Donovan Cater (Null and Void)

Mike Carroll (Virtual Asthma)

J.Kevin Carrier (Fantasy Theater, Glorianna, Lady Spectra)

Brian Canini (Drunken Cat Presents)

Glenn Brewer(Askarihodari)

John Boissy(U.H.O. - Ultra-Human Organization, wee freekz)

Pam Bliss (B-36)

Sean Bieri ( Jape)

Suzanne Baumann (Fridge Magnet Concoctions)

Colin Bartoldus (Twenty Four Hours)

Zac Baldus(Meathaus)

Esao Andrews (Meathaus)

Trevor Alixopulos (Nil, Urg!, Quagga)

Bob Corby (Blood Sucking Martian Crunchies, Bunny Blues & Oh,Comics!)

Laughing Ogre (Official Retailer)

Special Thanks to Tom Williams and Brent Riches for designing this years logos.